Harry Potter Over The Years

The covers of Harry Potter are always changing. The covers were different when I read them, when my younger brother read them, and when I gifted them to my cousin two years ago. This website captures the book covers over the years. Changing book covers represent cultural changes, trends in the books marketplace, new design techniques, new promotions etc. It was interesting to see the varying book covers for the first Harry Potter book since the covers look so distinct yet have this feeling of similarity among them. I can almost perfectly arrange the book covers chronologically in terms of their release year. This leads me to think that art and design, when done well, can capture the essence of their release year (it’s cultural setting) and the original plot. An interesting combination of originality and creativity.

Leave a comment